View Details << Back

BJP picks Jairam Thakur as new chief minister of Himachal Pradesh

  Shimla: The Bharatiya Janata Party on Sunday decided on the name of five-time MLA Jairam Thakur to take over as the 13th chief minister of Himachal Pradesh.

RK Nagar bypoll results - updates

The BJP Legislative Party met here on Sunday and elected Thakur as its leader. Central observers -- Union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman, JP Nadda and Narendra Singh Tomar as well as state party in-charge Mangal Pandey were present when the decision was taken.

"Jairam Thakur will be the BJP legislature party leader in Himachal Pradesh," Tomar told reporters after the meeting.

Thakur's name was proposed by former CM Prem Kumar Dhumal, who had lost in the recently-concluded Himachal Pradesh Assembly Election.

“I thank everyone, the central leadership, Prem Kumar Dhumal ji who proposed my name supported by JP Nadda, Shanta Kumar ji,” Thakur said after his election.

The BJP had won 44 of the 68 seats in the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly. Election results were announced on Monday.



© All rights Reserved. The south Asian, Published Weekly from New york.